Living in Lockdown- Movie Nights

There is very little to do in terms of fun and having a personal life outside of work since being in lockdown. I’m so fed up of being told this is an opportunity to do things I have not gotten the time to do, because I simply don’t want to do more than what I am already doing. What I want to do is relax but that is proving to be difficult nowadays.

There was a time I could easily watch a TV show or movie and be transported into its world, escaping my own but now I find it harder to recapture that feeling. What has helped is watching movies from the 80’s and 90’s, a time where COVID didn’t exist and things seemed slower and simpler than the hustling world of today, that demands you to still work like nothing is happening around us. I just get a warm, fuzzy feeling from those decades and I am guilty of romanticising the past.

Credit for my exposure to most of these movies definitely goes to my parents, whom I watched them with as a kid and have stayed with me since. I felt like I was being initiated into the club of “Good Movies You Have to See”, as my parents would call them. If I look back at it now, it is very endearing.

Now my nightly ritual after switching off my work laptop and wrapping up another work day has been to get into bed, with dinner, and watch a movie. Here are some of the films I have found solace in of late (in bold) and ones I plan on watching:

  • Jerry Maguire
  • The Firm
  • Baby Boom
  • Rain Man
  • A Few Good Men
  • Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
  • Sleepless in Seattle
  • You’ve Got Mail
  • Planes, Trains and Automobiles
  • Throw Momma from the Train
  • Ghostbusters
  • Ghost
  • Sister Act
  • A Perfect Murder

I am very open to recommendations and other movie suggestions so comment below if there’s a movie you love from the 80’s and 90’s! I’ll add them to the list 🙂

One thought on “Living in Lockdown- Movie Nights”

Leave a comment