Art Journal- Tsundoku

So after pinning a number of things to my art journal board on Pinterest and getting a fair idea of the process, I decided I’d start off with a Japanese word I found and wanted to illustrate for a while now.

Tsundoku (n)- the act of leaving a book unread after buying it, typically piled up together with other such unread books

tsundoku3 tsundoku2

tsundoku1

I often go on book buying sprees only to leave my purchases unread in the shelf and sometimes I buy some books just to own them. For example, I’d read the pdf of The Bell Jar a while ago but when I’d gone to a bookstore recently with my friend, I couldn’t resist the urge to buy the book and keep it with me in paperback format. I don’t plan on re-reading it any time soon but that doesn’t matter or factor into the reason why I bought it. I just wanted it in my bookshelf if only to give company to the many others.

IMG_0369

Anyone else engage in tsundoku?

-VD

Leave a Reply

