The Reread Challenge: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

This is the second book I’ve read as part of the Re-Read Challenge.

WHEN I First Read

I remember being introduced to the series by a neighbour of mine named Andrea.  One day, I was at her house and saw the first two Harry Potter books perched on her shelf. When I asked her about them, she had nothing but praise for the books. Out of curiosity I bought them as well.  I read the second book when I was around six years old.
 
WHAT I Remember
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets was an excellent follow up to the first book. I remember liking the air of mystery surrounding the identity of Slytherin’s heir and the Polyjuice Potion was fascinating. I think I was quite terrified at the prospect of a basilisk towards the end and was quite disappointed with the film version as it didn’t live up to my frightened expectations. I liked how familiar the wizarding world felt in the second book yet how there so many new elements like flying cars, the Whomping Willow and Riddle’s Diary introduced in it. I think a more real sense of danger was instilled in this book which was probably another reason I especially loved it. Plus, Dobby. I absolutely adored Dobby.
WHY I Wanted to Re-Read
Having grown up in the Harry potter generation where cauldron shaped birthday cakes were all the rage and I went trick or treating as Hermione Granger  for two Halloweens in a row, re rereading Harry potter was not just any other re read. It was like traveling back in time to my childhood. That’s priceless. No matter how old you are, Harry potter is for you. It’s a book that both parents and children have embraced and loved over the years. As a series, it’s a reminiscent gold mine for me. In particular, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is one of my favourites in the series so I was eager to read it once again.
 
HOW I Felt After Re-Reading

Since this is one of my favourite HP books, I could easily recall everything that happened which made reading it all over again more predictable yet no less enjoyable.

However, there are quite a few things I’d forgotten or underestimated like how terribly nasty the Dursleys were to Harry in the book. This fact made my heart warm when Ron, Fred and George came to break him out and take him back with them to the Burrow. I’ve always loved Harry and Ron’s friendship and this particular chapter, although not a grand standing one, shows just how close they are. I’d also underestimated how hot headed Ron could be around Malfoy.

I like how Hermione’s  character breaks from the archetypal good girl when she demonstrates that she would be more than willing to break the rules and brew the Polyjuice Potion in order to save lives. She was also the one that stole the ingredients from Snape’s pantry. I identify a lot with Hermione so it’s nice to see her character eschewing stereotypes and this is just a start in the series.

And last but not least, Dobby is a superb  character who made me want to both hug him to reassure him everything would be alright and yell at him to leave Harry alone. It’s heartbreaking that he didn’t heed Harry request to never save his life again. If only he had.

WOULD I Re-Read Again

YES! There is no doubt in my mind that I will re read this in the future.
Leave a Reply

