Day 4: Sniff

Prompt: Write a poem of any length incorporating every word from your latest Facebook status.

My Facebook status: “Sniff books like perfumes and wear books like hats upon your crazy heads.”

Sniff

She leaves early in the morning

with the scent of tired perfume

while I stay at home,

chewing books and binding

till …

she comes back, wide eyed

saying, “You’ve gone crazy!”

“But I like it! It’s fun!” I bark back

and she sighs.

Then buys books to replace the pile.

More the merrier I should think.

She leaves the next morning

wearing a tired hat upon her head

while I stay at home

chewing  books and bindings

But these new ones hurt my teeth,

fighting wear and tear

I don’t like this anymore…

When’s she coming home?


I tried to capture a dog’s point of view, one that likes to mess about with books 🙂

Leave a Reply

