A Five Day Sleep Journal

I decided to do my own sleep journal entry for this prompt and take a closer look at my sleeping pattern and habits. After reading the article on sleep procrastination, I wanted to see why I procrastinate on my sleep (although once I fall asleep, I sleep for a good 12 hours if left alone, so it’s not as if I’m sleep deprived).


Day 1: 23rd June, 2014

What time I wanted to sleep: 12 am

What time I slept: 2 am

Reason for the difference: Uni work, watching TV, listening to music and blogging

Day 2: 24th June, 2014

What time I wanted to sleep: 12 am

What time I slept: 10 pm

Reason for the difference: NIL

Day 3: 25th June, 2014

What time I wanted to sleep: 12 am

What time I slept: 3:30 am

Reason for the difference: Reading, watching FIFA (time zones suck)

Day 4: 26th June, 2014

What time I wanted to sleep: 12 am

What time I slept: 1 am

Reason for the difference: Watching TV, on my laptop

Day 5: 27th June, 2014

What time I wanted to sleep: 12 am

What time I slept: 12:30 am

Reason for the difference: Watching TV, on my laptop


Based on my five day sample, I can see that the reasons I stay up later than I intend are in my control and demonstrates my lack of self-regulation.

I also tend to fall asleep with the TV on, which may or may not be a bad habit according to an article I read in Readers Digest. For those who can’t ‘turn their brain off’ having the TV on passively in the background can relax people like me and help them sleep so in my case it’s not distracting me from sleeping altogether.

I think the reason I stay up late us because, as an introvert, I need just as much time for myself as how much I spend with others.

I suppose I have to work on going to bed at the right time by modifying my behaviour. Hopefully I can.

If not, I’m perfectly fine being a sleep procrastinator. I don’t find it all too terrible a thing to be.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/sleepy-time/

 

Leave a Reply

