Humanity in Smokes

I see a beggar squatting on a rag, in the exact same spot every morning on my way to college and a splattering of meager change before him. He was as thin as paper and dehydrated from the sun exposure. I thought for certain, I knew how he’d spend his charity.

But I thought wrong. The next day I saw him as usual…

smoking a cigarette.

I suppose that’s what he wanted the change for. And that is what made me sad.

It made me think of how easily humanity can lose the plot that is life. How we spend our time, love and effort for all the wrong things and the real tragedy is how we are doomed to never realize that they are wrong.

Leave a Reply

