Break the Silence- Dead or Alive

If I’d known that night of December 23rd

That it was my last to spend with my old man

I could have said everything, yet I said nothing

Instead of saying ‘I love you’, I said ‘Good night’

And I hope he did have a good night

Because he did not wake up the next morning

And all the words I never said then came to mind

Too late, too little and just too simple

But I’m saying them all right now

Through my writing, through my art

The words bleed through my heart

And I hope wherever you are tonight

In another life or up in the heavens

That you can hear me say ‘I love you’

Because it may be much too late

But by no means  less true

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/break-the-silence/

7 thoughts on “Break the Silence- Dead or Alive”

Leave a Reply

